Lakewood Garden Club

In 1950, The Lakewood Garden Club was organized for the purpose of enhancing the beautification of the Lakewood Subdivision by encouraging residents to create landscaping that complimented its natural setting of trees and water. This purpose continues today.

The Garden Club recognizes residents for their outstanding efforts with awards for “Yard of the Month” and “Light-Up Lakewood” each year.

The club also is responsible for the upkeep and beautification of the entry subdivision sign on Post Oak. The Lakewood Civic Association is a welcomed financial partner for this on-going project.

In 2010 and 2011, the Garden Club and Civic Association joined the City of Baytown in a joint effort to encourage residents to Keep Baytown Beautiful by participating in the Baytown TrashOff , followed by the Beautify Lakewood Contest.

On September 15, 2010, The Lakewood Garden Club celebrated its 60th Anniversary with a tea at the home of Barbara Gibson. Councilman Brandon Capetillo read a Proclamation from the City of Baytown, commemorating this event.

In 2010 -2011, marking the 60th Anniversary in a more permanent way, The LGC and the LCA once again have teamed to replace the Post Oak sign and landscaping. The Civic Association funded the cost of a welcomed stone sign, designed and constructed by Randy Dickey and volunteers from the neighborhood.  The Garden Club provided the landscape design and labor for the landscape beautification.

The members of our organization sincerely appreciate our residents and their  contributions, dedicated efforts and service in continuing to Beautify Lakewood.

2022-2023 Officers:

Brenda Smith President
Evelyn Rose 1st Vice-President
Lynne Foley 2nd Vice-President
Aileen Harding Secretary
Lois Smith Treasurer
Karen Mason Historian
Joanne Springer Parliamentarian

2021-2022 Officers:

Brenda Smith President
Lynn Foley 1st Vice-President
Fran Parent &
Randee King
2nd Vice-President
Aileen Harding Secretary
Lois Smith Treasurer
Karen Knight Historian
Joanne Springer Parliamentarian

2019-2020 Officers:

Lisa Little President
Barbara Mabry 1st Vice-President
Fran Parent & Evelyn Rose 2nd Vice-President
Brenda Smith Secretary
Lois Smith Treasurer
Karen Knight Historian
Doris Whitcomb Parliamentarian

2017-8 Officers:

 Karen Knight President
 Jean Gammel 1st Vice-President
 Karen Lewis & Courtney Lloyd 2nd Vice-President
 Barbara Mabry Secretary
Doris Whitcomb Treasurer
 Jo Hinkle Historian
 Joanne Springer Parliamentarian

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Contact us so we can take care of it!